IE 7 Security BS

July 25, 2006

Okay. I’ve been using IE 7 for a couple weeks now and I have to say that MS has totally gone overboard with all the security BS. Every damn 5 minutes I’m getting another little pop up asking me if I really want to display some content. Here’s where I think MS is missing the mark:

  1. When content is blocked and I want to know what content and why, all I get is some generic BS help content from MS about why security is a good thing and the Info Bar is helping me stay secure. It gives me virtually no information that helps me decide whether or not I want to take the big risk and show the blocked content.Just this evening I was browsing around this site and all of a sudden none of the images or CSS would download. They were being blocked by IE. But when I tried to figure out why, IE didn’t give me any information. Knowing that this site is safe and that obviously the images and CSS were being blocked (probably because their loaded on the fly or something) I figured it was fine to let them download. But someone who isn’t a web dev or computer savvy individual likely won’t know this.
  2. Which brings me to my next point. Moving the decision about what is and isn’t safe to the user is not necessarily a good thing. I can envision my dad browsing to a web site and IE basically saying “uh… hey dude. some stuff here doesn’t seem that safe. think i should download it?”. And my dad is saying “why are you asking me?! you’re the computer – i don’t know about this stuff!”.

See when IE starts asking you about every little thing you just start to get desensitized to it and accept everything (at least I do). I mean when I get warnings about blocked content from sites I KNOW are safe (like wordpress for example) it makes me think that I can probably go ahead and display blocked content from other sites too. “Nothing bad happened when I loaded the content over there, it will probably be fine here too.”

It just seems to me that MS shouldn’t be asking me to make these decisions. You’re the computer. You tell me what’s safe and what isn’t.

Oh – one more thing. I got this warning today. Priceless. (click the image to see it full size)
ie-security.png

One Response to “IE 7 Security BS”


  1. […] gets back to my previous post about IE security. Simply warning the user isn’t going to cut it. And too many warnings is […]


Leave a Reply

